Any user can preview content from their own Gallery or Homepage or from returned search results. Below are descriptions of the Media Player Page and what each icon can do. To access the Player Page, click on the media item from the Gallery or returned search result.
View, Listen, or Download
If a user clicks the play button, they can watch an uploaded video in the video player or listen to an audio file. Additionally, they can download a file by clicking file image.
If the video is one of your uploaded videos, you will find several icons down the right side of the media item, including the items described below. Note that if you want to share an item outside of your district, you can use the Share Bar if you have permission to share:
Edit Attributes Icon: This link will allow you to edit many fields associated with a media item. You can edit the Name, Description, Change the Thumbnail, Add Closed Caption, Add or Remove Tags, Change the Permission Setting, etc. You can only Edit your own videos.
Embed Icon: Clicking this link gives two options for sharing of an item. The first option provides a unique URL link to the video. Click the clipboard icon to the right of the URL link and then share the link via email, website post, or through social media. Make sure your permissions level is set appropriately to where you want to share your media item.
The second option displayed is the Embed Code, which allows you to resize a video before embedding it into a site. You can copy and paste this code into any of your web pages. When a visitor to your webpage clicks the video play button, the video will automatically stream from the MyVRSpot system.
Note: Student Users will not have access to the Embed Code or URL sharing option.
Tracking Icon: Click the Tracking icon to see a detailed report of the viewing activity of your file. The report will default to display the activity over the past 14 days, though you can click on the calendar to modify that date range. You will see the total number of views during the date range, the average time that people were viewing your media file, a daily graph of the views, and a detailed list of each view, including the date, time, time on page, person who viewed the media, and IP address.
Download Icon: Clicking this icon will download the media item to your local drive.
Delete Icon: This link will allow you to permanently delete your media item. You can only delete your own videos.
Note: Once you delete a file, you can retrieve that file for up to thirty (30) days. If you need to retrieve a deleted file, click on the Deleted Items button on the Home page. A list of all of your deleted files will be displayed. Click on the Restore icon to the far right of your file to restore the file to your account.
If you have permission to share a media item outside of your district, the Share Bar will appear underneath the media player. Visit this article for more information.
Below Media Preview
Underneath the media preview, you will find a few other options that are described below:
Views: This specifies the number of views.
Add to Favorites: Click this button and the media item will be added to your favorites page.
Request Caption: If your district subscribes to either the speech-to-text or human captioning solution, click this button to request the caption.
Add to Group: If you want your video to become part of the library for a specific Group that you are a member of, just click the down arrow and select the appropriate Group.
Add to Showcase: If your district subscribes to the Video Showcase solution, this item will appear. Select which category and which Showcase to add the media item to.
Other Media Preview Items
Description: Under the video player, you will see the Title of the Video, the name of the person that uploaded the video, and the avatar of that User.
Discussion: In this Discussion field, Students can post a comment about their uploaded video for their Teacher to see. All Student comments can only be viewed and responded to by Teachers. Other students will not see comments that students post to their own videos.
In addition, Teachers and Administrators are able to leave an additional Comment about the video, providing the Student with feedback on their video. Again, other Students will not see the comments from the Teacher back to the Student.