How to Change User Roles in Groups

User roles in groups determine the access level of each user in a group. Access levels range from read only to an administrator role. Group administrators and creators of a group can update the roles for the other members their group. Follow the instructions below to update a user’s role in a group.

 

Step 1: Click the Groups dropdown from the menu and select My Groups.

Step 2: Click the Group Members icon (person) to the right of the group you want to update.

Step 3: Check the boxes to the left of the users that you want to update and click the Update Roles button.

Step 4: Now, you can either bulk update all of the users’ roles or you can update them individually.

Bulk Update User Roles

Use the Select a group permission dropdown and select a permission level that will update all of the selected users’ roles. For example, if you choose the Admin role, all of the selected users’ roles in the dropdown field to the right of the users’ names would change to Admin.

Update Individual User Roles

If you do not want all of the users to have the same role, you will want to update all of the selected users’ roles individually. To do so, select the dropdown field to the right of the user’s name and select one of the following:

  • Group Member (Read Only) – This is the default role
  • Admin – Has the ability to add and remove group members, change member’s user roles, and add or remove media
  • Group Member (Can Add Media to Group)
  • Group Member (Can Add and Remove Media in Group)

Step 5: When finished, click the Update button to save.